Nu Alpha Chapter was founded in Wilson, North Carolina on November 17, 1936. The Chapter was chartered in New Bern on December 5, 1936, with the following officers:

BasileusBro. Bosie O. Barnes (Wilson)
Vice BasileusBro. William Perkins (Tarboro)
Keeper of Records & SealBro. Aaron Womack (Kinston)
ChaplainBro. D. F. Martinez
Editor to the OracleBro. Randolph Armstrong (Rocky Mount)
Keeper of PeaceBro. John Jackson (Goldsboro)

Nu Alpha was chartered with 61 charter members. They were:

Bro. R. D. ArmstrongBro. F. R. DanyusBro. A. D. Smith
Bro. W. K. LyleBro. R. RicksBro. J. E. Bowen
Bro. E. J. BakerBro. W. H. DavenportBro. E Frinks
Bro. C. J. MabryBro. B. S. RiversBro. A. A. Morrisey
Bro. J. H. BakerBro. M. DavisBro. I. H. Smith
Bro. D. F. MartinezBro. J. ScottBro. J. W. Broadhurst
Bro. B. O. BarnesBro. R. EarleBro. C. R. Graves
Bro. S. K. McLendonBro. N. W. SladeBro. A. E. Murrell
Bro. R. C. BoddieBro. C. E. EdwardsBro. C. C. Stokes
Bro. J. M. MillerBro. A. D. SmithBro. A. H. Bryant
Bro. J. A. HarperBro. A. B. ParkerBro. H. R. Taylor
Bro. J. H. BullockBro. J. G. HayesBro. J. W. Parker
Bro. W. R. TweedyBro. E. C. BurnetteBro. T. J. Hodge
Bro. W. H. ParkerBro. S. H. VickBro. W. G. Byers
Bro. E. S. HoustonBro. W. PatilloBro. O. M. Washington
Bro. T. L. BynumBro. J. B. JacksonBro. W. Pearson
Bro. R. O. WeathersBro. C. M. CarrawayBro. R. A. Johnson
Bro. W. PerkinsBro. G. WilliamsBro. J. H. Carraway
Bro. P. C. LloydBro. J. E. PittmanBro. M. D. Williams
Bro. S. CarrawayBro. T. I. LongBro. A. B. Reid
Bro. A. L. Womack  

The chapter consisted of men from Wilson, Rocky Mount, Tarboro, Greenville, New Bern, Goldsboro, Kinston and surrounding areas. Later, Brothers joined or were initiated from Jacksonville, Elm City, Henderson, Elizabeth City, Beaufort, Plymouth, Scotland Neck and LaGrange. They met monthly on a rotating basis in all the cities represented.

Brother S. Herbert Adams was District Representative at the time of the chartering. There are no surviving charter members.

In 1949, Brothers Barnes and Miller attended the National Conclave in Chicago. Nu Alpha was the largest chapter in Omega with 92 members.

Nu Alpha hosted the Sixth District meeting in Wilson, NC in 1958, with Brother “Bing” Miller as District Marshall.

Nu Alpha produced only one District Representative in person of Brother Miller.

Due to the extensive area covered by Nu Alpha and the travel required to attend meetings, seven chapters were chartered from Nu Alpha’s membership. Those chapters are:

  • Alpha Omicron (Rocky Mount)
  • Delta Iota (Elizabeth City)
  • Lambda Pi (Kinston)
  • Rho Rho (Ahoskie)
  • Beta Beta Beta (Wilson)
  • Phi Alpha Alpha (Goldsboro)
  • Iota Nu Nu (Greenville)

Nu Alpha’s operating area now consists of New Bern, Washington and areas around these cities.